10 algeng byrjendamistök (á ensku)

Greinar um fiska og umhirðu þeirra

Moderators: Vargur, Andri Pogo

Hanna

10 algeng byrjendamistök (á ensku)

Post by Hanna »

Ten Common Beginner Mistakes

Even a cursory look at the posts in the Forum Section underscores how confusing it is to be a beginner in this hobby. The questions come thick and fast, and in many cases, the answers contradict previous advice or long-held hopes - sometimes to a ridiculous extent. (No, despite what the fish store guy said, you can't raise an Oscar in a 10 gallon tank.)

As a relatively new hobbyist, I am only too well aware of what beginners struggle with. And to that end, I offer these 10 common beginner mistakes as a map of what NOT to do. Read and heed. Your future fish will thank you.

1. Do NOT automatically trust your local fish store (LFS).

I almost wrote don't trust them, period. But that's unfair. There are knowledgeable and credible fish store owners and employees out there. They key is to weed through all those who don't know, don't know that they don't know or don't care that they don't know. So test your LFS with questions you know the answers to. (Can I put neon tetras with African mbuna? The answer had better be NO!) And take notes of the answers and compare them to what you find online generally and on this site specifically. You might also try asking the same questions to more than one employee. The knowledge within a store will vary considerably. Try to find the "veteran" or the one employee who already has a tank or fish similar to what you want. In other words, find the planted tank nut at that particular store if that is what you are interested in.

2. Don't start too small.